DI Dr. Günther Rabensteiner

Member of the Board, Verbund AG

© Joachim Haslinger

Dr. Günther Rabensteiner after his studies in electrical engineering  begun his career in 1978 at the Technical University of Graz in the field of power systems engineering and economics (research and consulting activities). From 1987 on he held several expert and management positions in hydro power station engineering, operations and maintenance at the Tauernkraftwerke AG, Salzburg. 1994 he acted as Managing Director of Business Unit Engineering at Österreichische Elektrizitätswirtschafts-AG (now Verbund AG), Vienna. From 1995 on he was appointed Executive Director of several telecom-companies of the Verbund Group (Austrocom, V-Tel, tele.ring). 

In 1999 he took up responsibility for VERBUND´s power trading and wholesale business as Managing Director for this sector and was appointed Executive Director and Chairman of the Management Board of VERBUND´s APT Power Trading GmbH, Vienna and 2007 Chief Executive Officer of VERBUND-Austrian Power Trading AG. Dr. Rabensteiner was furthermore Chairman and Member of the supervisory boards of VERBUND Trading  subsidiaries in Germany, Poland, Greece, Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Croatia,  Czech Republic and Hungary.
As Chairman of the Board of Verbund Italia SpA, Rome, he was also Deputy Chairman of the Board of Sorgenia SpA, Milan, from 1999 to 2007 and again from 2011 to 2013.

Dr. Rabensteiner is Member of the Executive Board of VERBUND AG since April 2011; as COO he is responsible for Production, which includes Hydro Power, Thermal Power and Heat  and New Renewables (Wind and Solar) and International Activities.

He is Board Member of Österreichs Energie (OE), respACT (Austrian business council for sustainable development) and VEF (Vienna Economic Forum for the Westbalkan Countries).

Dr. Rabensteiner was Member of the Exchange Council of the EEX European Energy Exchange, Leipzig and Chairman 2007-2011. He was also Member of the Exchange Council of EPEX Spot, Paris and Chairman 2009-2011. He was President of the Austrian Electrotechnical Association (OVE) 2005 to 2008 and President of EUREL (Convention of National Societies of Electrical Engineers of Europe, Brussels) 2006/2007.